Grouping

I was originally just going to pop this into Plurk or Twitter, but my thoughts rambled on too long.

When we group people into a certain class or stereotype – gangster, furry, redneck, race, whatever the case may be – we assign different qualities to the group overall and our expectations of people from that group are to fit that clump of qualities.

Stereotype groups, cliques, and whatever else these things are called nowadays – we need to remember that they’re made of individuals with their own thoughts, opinions, and experiences. They’re not all going to be the same, not all going to fit into that mold we make in our minds, despite how they act when we first meet them.

I admit. I’m prejudiced against a fair few groups of people on the Teen Grid and in real life. Whether this is from lack of exposure to the groups in question or if it’s just hardwired into me from the way I grew up and what values I have set in my mind, I’m not sure. I try to keep an open mind, but it’s hard sometimes.

I want to expand on this idea – I think about these things a lot on my own; that’s how I get a fair few of my opinions.
I just needed to get this out.

~ by Blau Rascon on September 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
