Expectations

When I think about going to the main grid, there are many things I automatically expect.

I, of course, expect to hear many older people, and many foreign people over voice chat. I also expect to be around people speaking only foreign text chat. I expect I’ll ask them to speak English once or twice, and I expect that won’t go over well.
It doesn’t usually.

I expect there won’t be formal armies like on the Teen Grid. I expect a few bands and whatnot, of course, but not formal hellbent-on-destroying-each-other armies. I mean, there’s a big difference between that and friendly paintball / medieval archery things.

I expect spam, but I don’t expect anything like DwiTek. I actually expect worse spam, but more spread out… and much different.
A friend said the spam on MG is a lot worse than it is here. I can only imagine how bad it is at times.

I expect many, many high-quality avas, and, of course, some that make you stop and wtf. I also expect to spend a lot of money on these high-quality avas. I have four already lined up for purchase (as soon as I get to MG and find the places, hah).

I expect to make a lot of new friends. I expect to spend a lot of time talking to them.
I might as well expect not making any new friends, like swapping schools did for me.

Those’re a few things I’m expecting.
..Expecting isn’t the right word, I think, but I don’t know what would be here.
I know it’s not right to expect these things… but hey.
I bet things’ll be great.

~ by Blau Rascon on July 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “Expectations”

  1. I’ve been on the MG for years [almost 3, although my rezdate does not reflect that] and I can honestly say I’ve never encountered “armies” before. But I also do not do much RP, so maybe there’s something I’m missing. 🙂

    You will enjoy the MG a LOT! There is just so much to see and do! Even after all this time, it’s so incredibly rare that I am ever bored in SL. Just when you think you’ve seen it all…poof! New stuff! 🙂 When is your transfer?

    • No armies on MG?… That made my day. Seriously.
      These guys aren’t really roleplaying… armies are just all they do in SL, to my knowledge.

      And, I transfer in mid-November, assuming things get processed quickly.
      I’m already pulling together a list of people to friend and places to check out when I hit MG… my first few days are going to be crazy, haha.

  2. Find someone mature, sane, skilled in SL, to adopt you. I often fear for the young in SL. If they are not cared for carefully or inadvertenly introduced to immature and offensive places the SL Additciton could easily impact and taint the very core of the real life person behind the avatar. Please – be responsible and value the creative and positive attributs that SL can bring to your entertainment.

Leave a Reply

 
