The Relay and Me

Why am I becoming so active in Relay for Life of Second Life?

I love charity things. I love helping people. Being a part of RFL, even on Second Life, is giving me great joy.

Cancer itself has hit home with me a few times. Nobody, in my memory, has died from cancer in my family, but one of my favorite teachers, my 9th-10th grade Latin teacher, was diagnosed with breast cancer last year. She’s a strong person… I’m certain she’ll make it through. Nonetheless, it hit home that she had to be struck with such…

Now, this probably isn’t as important to most people, seeing as most people believe that the only good rat is a dead rat. I, on the other hand, love them. How does that fit into RFL? Rats are prone to cancer, especially mammary tumors in unspayed females, as they get older.  And, while I don’t know if RFL deals with cancer in animals, if their help can get a cure for humans, then a cure for our beloved animals won’t be too far behind it.
My only female rat, Floyd, the healthiest of the bunch for the longest time, recently developed a quarter-sized mammary tumor. It doesn’t seem to have spread or gotten larger, but as soon as we can we’re getting it removed.

Both of these issues hit home for me. Ergo, it makes me feel really good to help find a cure – to help with RFL.

Now, I only help out with RFL over Second Life. Why? It’s the easiest way for me to help out – I’m geared toward computer-related things, and I’m on Second Life a good portion of the day.

A poll recently came up in the RFL group on TSL as to whether we’d be willing to pull off a 24-hr relay to wrap up the RFL activities in July. I voted yes, haha – I’d be willing to pull an all-nighter  in support of this. Either way things go, I’ll be willing to do the actual relay on SL, if that’s held.

Either way – Today’s June 1! PAINT THE GRID PURPLE, SL’ERS! 8D!

Haha. Blau out, for now.

~ by Blau Rascon on June 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
